facebook tracking pixel
Muskegon Community College
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Wrestling- Niagara Open

December 2, 2017 @ 9:30 am - 9:30 pm

Jayhawks Place Nine at Thunderwolves Open.

On day two of their trip to New York Muskegon Community College wrestled in the Thunderwolves Open on the campus of Niagara County Community College. The Jayhawks placed all nine wrestlers who were entered in the tournament.

Freshman Dren Bartrum (Greenville HS) wrestled a great tournament. “Dren is a guy that works hard, listens to his coaches, and gets better every time he wrestles,” said Head Coach James Tietema. “It’s great coaching guys like him and some of our other freshmen.” Freshmen Sage Gonzales (Alma HS) and Jojo Dowdell (Whitehall HS) also had great tournaments, both finishing 3rd.

“The Thunderwolves Open is a great tournament to compete at,” said Coach Tietema. “We get to see some of the top teams in East Districts I and II. Niagara or Mercyhurst NE are usually competing for the district title in the East District II and Spartanburg Methodist is a top team in the East District I.” “I think this is the first time in my 6 years at MCC that every wrestler we entered into a tournament placed. Our freshmen are wrestling well and our sophomores being consistant. I’m very happy with our performance today.”

The Jayhawks will travel to Chicago, IL on Saturday, 12/9 to compete at the Art Kraft Open at Triton Community College.

Thunderwolves Open Results for Muskegon Community College:

125 – Benny Gomez – 3rd
Benny Gomez (MCC) over Christian Antoine (Unattached) (Fall 4:00)
Justin Patrick (Buffalo Unattached) over Benny Gomez (MCC) (Dec 4-1)
Benny Gomez (MCC) over Patrick Lehman (Alfred State College) (TF 19-2)
Benny Gomez (MCC) over Caleb Wiggins (Jamestown CC) (Dec 10-3)

141 – Zeke Breuninger – 3rd
Zeke Breuninger (MCC) over Joseph Velez (Unattached) (Maj 12-0)
Blake Retell (Buffalo Unattached) over Zeke Breuninger (MCC) (Dec 4-2)
Zeke Breuninger (MCC) over Ben Winkler (Jamestown CC) (TF 16-0)
Zeke Breuninger (MCC) over Michael Perdomo (Penn State Fayette) (SV-1 9-7)

149 – Dren Bratrum – 1st
Dren Bratrum (MCC) over Jonah Cavallo (Brockport State) (TF 16-1)
Dren Bratrum (MCC) over Caleb Davies (Albany) (Fall 4:00)
Dren Bratrum (MCC) over Casey Connor (Alfred State College) (Maj 17-4)
Dren Bratrum (MCC) over Aaron Fountain (Spartanburg Methodist College) (Fall 4:13)

157 – Jojo Dowell – 3rd
Steven Kapuscinski (Niagara CCC) over Jojo Dowell (Muskegon Community College) (Dec 3-2)
Jojo Dowell (MCC) over Jacob Power (Spartanburg Methodist College) (TF 24-5)
Jojo Dowell (MCC) over Brandon Turner (Saint Clair CC) (Fall 6:51)
Jojo Dowell (MCC) over Anmar Al-Abolidi (Henry Ford College) (TF 18-1)
Jojo Dowell (MCC) over Zack Brown (Brockport State) (MFF)
Jojo Dowell (MCC) over Michael Zito (Jamestown CC) (TF 19-2)

165 – Blake Ross – 4th
Anthony Miraglia (Alfred State College) over Blake Ross (MCC) (Dec 5-4)
Blake Ross (MCC) over Casey Provost (Brockport State) (Inj. 3:00)
Blake Ross (MCC) over Dustin Joy (Unattached) (Dec 6-4)
Blake Ross (MCC) over Jaelen Jean (Niagara CCC) (Dec 7-6)
Blake Ross (MCC) over Jacob Garrow (Niagara CCC) (Dec 8-3)
Blake Ross (MCC) over Derek Ridgeway (Mercyhurst NE) (SV-1 7-5)
3rd Place Match – Sage Gonzalez (MCC) won by rule over Blake Ross (MCC) (RULE)

165 – Sage Gonzalez – 3rd
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Casey Provost (Brockport State) (Maj 13-1)
Zach Cassidy (Mercyhurst NE) over Sage Gonzalez (MCC) (SV-1 5-4)
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Edward Stanton (UMass Unattached) (Maj 17-7)
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Liam Roche (Albany) (Fall 1:55)
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Anthony Miraglia (Alfred State College) (Fall 6:09)
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Zach Cassidy (Mercyhurst NE) (MFF)
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Blake Ross (MCC) (RULE)

174 – Ronnell McGhee – 6th
Ronnell McGhee (MCC) over Ryan Newman (Edinboro Unattached) (Dec 6-3)
Ronnell McGhee (MCC) over Adam Mateo (Niagara CCC) (TB-1 2-1)
Ryan Kromer (Buffalo Unattached) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (Fall 2:19)
Caleb Spears (Spartanburg Methodist College) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (Dec 3-2)
Cameron Calderelli (Buffalo Unattached) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (Dec 1-0)

285 – Brock Johnson – 5th
Brock Johnson (MCC) over Bryce Hanley (Penn State DuBois) (Fall 6:23)
Brock Johnson (MCC) over Devlen Kuschel (Henry Ford College) (Fall 1:39)
Ian James (Buffalo Unattached) over Brock Johnson (MCC) (Dec 1-0)
Andrew Wade (Spartanburg Methodist College) over Brock Johnson (MCC) (Dec 4-2)
Brock Johnson (MCC) over Kyle Fitzgerald (Alfred State College) (RULE)

285 – Ramon Correa – 2nd
Ramon Correa (MCC) over Ryan Mattison (Alfred State College) (Fall 2:56)
Ramon Correa (MCC) over Shaerod Rodgers (Brockport State) (TF 15-0)
Ramon Correa (MCC) over Samuel Weinger (RIT Unattached) (Dec 4-1)
Ian James (Buffalo Unattached) over Ramon Correa (MCC) (Dec 5-2)


December 2, 2017
9:30 am - 9:30 pm
Event Category: