MCC News

Overbrook Players Present The Laramie Project Nov. 28-Dec. 2

Monday, November 12, 2012

The Laramie Project, a play about the 1998 hate-crime killing of Matthew Shepard in Laramie, Wyoming, will be presented by the MCC Overbrook Players on Nov. 28-Dec. 2.

Murdered because he was a homosexual, Shepard’s tragic death became a national symbol of intolerance, but for the people of Laramie the event was deeply personal. Their voices are heard in this stunningly effective theater piece written by Moises Kaufman and The Members of Tectonic Theater Project.

Show times in MCC’s Overbrook Theater are 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday - Saturday, Nov. 28 – Dec. 1, and at 3 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 2. Tickets, which go on sale Nov. 14, are $5 for MCC students, faculty and staff and $10 for the public. For more information or reserved seating, contact the Overbrook Theater Box Office at (231) 777-0324.

Originally presented by MCC 10 years ago, The Laramie Project is about hate and recent statistics reveal that hate crimes and bullying are still present and may be on the rise, explained Sheila Kulp Wahamaki, the MCC director and faculty member.

“The faculty and staff of the Theater Department thought there was a need to share this theater piece with current MCC students,” she explained. “The college needs to be involved in fostering tolerance and a community that’s free of hate and intolerance.” 

Talk Back Discussions, Benefit Show 

Following each performance, a “Talk Back with the Cast” will be held. MCC Overbrook Players will join in the Muskegon’s Coalition for HIV Awareness and Prevention (MCHAP) World AIDS Day event by donating all proceeds from their performance on Saturday, Dec. 1.

The Laramie Project, directed by Sheila Kulp Wahamaki, features scenery, lighting, and sound designed by Tom Harryman, assisted by Theater Technician Brian Goodman, with costumes designed by Jeanette Wahr, assisted by Nikki Foster, and student stage managed by Megan Baker.

The MCC student cast includes Sydney Hansen, Tré Perry, Andrew Steward, Cory Goodrich, Mike Munson, Erin Mickelson, Victoria Grant, Colton Hall, and Mikaela Taylor.