Academic Affairs Office

 Life Science Department Faculty and Staff

The Life Science Department consists of five full-time faculty members, several adjunct faculty, a laboratory director, a counselor, and a secretary. In addition to serving on college committees and councils, our staff participate in local, state, and national workshops and conferences, and serve the Muskegon community in a variety of ways. The department is dedicated to facilitating student learning. In this regard, faculty manage their courses by learning objectives, which specifically identify course concepts, student learning responsibilities, and form the basis for course examinations. Faculty are available to meet with students during office hours or by appointment.

Throughout the year, the department also looks for some diligent and enthusiastic students to become laboratory assistants or nature trail guides. Laboratory assistant positions are held by work study students. If you are interested in being a lab assistant or work study please contact Alexia Alexander in the Financial Aid Office of Student Services, located in room 106G at 777-0342. Contact the department secretary at 777-0273, if you are interested in being a Nature Trail Guide.

Dr. Shawn Macauley
Darren Mattone 
Kathy Pollock
Theresa Van Veelen  --Chair Person    

Scott Kendall
Jack E. Mueller
Debra Brown-Hendrickson
Kemberle Crowell
Joann Flejszar
Tom Szten


Chairperson:  Theresa Van Veelen 

Phone:  231.777.0672   ** Email:

Counselor:  Vilene Rodgers 

Phone: 231.777.0296    ** Email:
Main Department Office Hours:  Room 243

Fall/Winter Hours:  Monday thru Friday  7:30am - 4:30pm
Summer Hours:  Monday thru Wednesday  7:30am - 4:00pm 

Department Support Staff:  Hillari Thompson
     Phone 231.777.0273   Fax: 231.777.0440  **Email:
Lab Supervisor - Support Staff:  Jennifer Darling
     Phone 231.777.0220   Fax: 231.777.0440  **Email: