

BOARD OF TRUSTEES ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES January 14, 2013 – 11:00 A.M. Conference Room 400Z

Present: Dr. Donald Crandall, Nancy Frye, Dorothy Lester, Sean Mullally, Ann Oakes and Diana Osborn.

Absent: Roy Portenga

Chairperson – President Dale K. Nesbary

The meeting was called to order at 4:08 p.m.

Purpose of Meeting: To elect officers of the Board as per Laws, Statutes and Constitutional Provisions affecting Community Colleges in Michigan, Section 389.111 as amended by Public Act 135 of 1997 – Community College Act Amendments.

The Honorable William C. Marietti, Chief Judge for the County of Muskegon, was introduced by Dr. Crandall.

I. Oath of Office for Newly Elected Trustees – Trustee Crandall, Trustee Mullally and Trustee Portenga.

Judge Marietti conducted the swearing in of two of the three re-elected trustees; Trustee Mullally was given the oath of office followed by Dr. Crandall. Both trustees were applauded and congratulated. Trustee Portenga will be sworn in by Trustee Oakes at the Board meeting on Wednesday, January 16, 2013.

2. Nomination and Election of Chairperson, Board of Trustees – President Nesbary

President Nesbary requested nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees for Muskegon Community College. Trustee Mullally nominated Dr. Crandall; second.

A roll call vote was taken for Trustee Crandall as Chair of the Board of Trustees:

Trustee Frye – Yes	Trustee Osborn – Yes
Trustee Lester – Yes	Trustee Crandall – Yes
Trustee Oakes – Yes	Trustee Mullally – Yes

Dr. Crandall was elected and welcomed as Chair of the Board of Trustees.

3. Nomination and Election of Vice-Chairperson, Board of Trustees -

Trustee Lester nominated Trustee Osborn; second.

With no further nominations, nominations were closed.

A roll call vote was taken for Trustee Osborn as Vice-Chairperson of the Board of Trustees:

Trustee Frye – Yes	Trustee Osborn – Yes
Trustee Lester – Yes	Trustee Crandall – Yes
Trustee Oakes – Yes	Trustee Mullally – Yes

Trustee Osborn was elected and welcomed as Vice-Chairperson of the Board of Trustees.

4. Nomination and Election of Treasurer, Board of Trustees -

Trustee Oakes nominated Trustee Lester; second.

With no further nominations, nominations were closed.

A roll call vote was taken for Trustee Lester as Treasurer of the Board of Trustees:

Trustee Frye – Yes	Trustee Osborn – Yes
Trustee Lester – Yes	Trustee Crandall – Yes
Trustee Oakes – Yes	Trustee Mullally – Yes

Trustee Lester was elected and welcomed as Treasurer of the Board of Trustees.

5. Nomination and Election of Secretary, Board of Trustees -

Trustee Mullally nominated Trustee Frye; second.

With no further nominations, nominations were closed.

A roll call vote was taken for Trustee Frye as Secretary of the Board of Trustees:

Trustee Frye – Yes	Trustee Osborn – Yes
Trustee Lester – Yes	Trustee Crandall – Yes
Trustee Oakes – Yes	Trustee Mullally – Yes

Trustee Frye was elected and welcomed as Secretary of the Board of Trustees.

With no further business, this portion of the meeting was adjourned at 4:14 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Secretary, Nancy Frye.

/csd