facebook tracking pixel
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Wrestling at The Art Kraft Tournament hosted by Triton College

December 8, 2018 @ 9:30 am - 5:00 pm

Michael Carrasco Wins Art Kraft Memorial Open

Muskegon Community College wrestled in the Art Kraft Memorial Open. Six Jayhawks placed in the tournament, led by Freshman Michael Carrasco (Grandville, M I/ Grandville HS) who was the Jayhawk’s only champion. “Michael wrestled his best tournament of the year, by far,” said Head Coach James Tietema. “It’s great watching things connect for a freshman. Michael has struggled to make the adjustment to the college level, but he works very hard. We knew hard work pays off and today, it did for him.”  Carrasco beat Killian Perrigon of Cornell College 8-6 in the finals.

Freshman Garrett Morris (West Branch, MI / Ogemaw Heights HS) and freshman Dakota Greer (Morley, MI / Tri County HS) both finished 3rd.  Morris’ only loss was to the number 2 ranked wrestler in the nation. Other Jayhawks who placed were sophomore Jaycob Bechtol (Holt, MI / Holt HS) who placed 4th, sophomore Dylan Wilkins (Rockford, MI / Sparta HS) and sophomore Corey Perkins (Chicago, IL / H.L. Richards HS) both placing 5th.

The Jayhawks wrapped up their first semester of wrestling and will return after Christmas to compete at the Multi-Divisional National Duals in Louisville, Ky on Friday & Saturday, January 4th & 5th. The Jayhawks will host two tournaments in the second semester, the MCCAA Championships on Saturday, January 12th and the 2019 NJCAA North Central District Championships on Sunday, February 17th.

Art Kraft Memorial Results for Muskegon

125 – Dakota Greer – 3rd

Dakota Greer (MCC) over Aaron Shaw (Lincoln) (Fall 2:08)

Dakota Greer (MCC) over Austin Weaver (Joliet JC) (TF 16-1)

Dakota Greer (MCC) over Lane Wells (Harper CC) (Maj 15-5)

Thomas Russell (Triton CC) over Dakota Greer (MCC) (Fall 1:29)

Dakota Greer (MCC) over Hunter Lajiness (Henry Ford CC) (TF 17-2)

133 – Dylan Wilkins – 5th

Christian Mejia (McKendree University) over Dylan Wilkins (MCC) (Maj 13-2)

Dylan Wilkins (MCC) over Trevor Dusty (Grand Valley State) (Maj 18-4)

Dylan Wilkins (MCC) over Andre Neal (Elmhurst College) (Dec 3-0)

Dylan Wilkins (MCC) over Angel Rios Jr (Millikin University) (Dec 1-0)

141 – Matthew Lipka – DNP

Killian Perrigon (Cornell College) over Matthew Lipka (MCC) (Dec 12-9)

Jordan Carson (Triton CC) over Matthew Lipka (MCC) (Dec 14-8)

141 – Michael Carrasco – 1st

Michael Carrasco (MCC) over Adam Plotkin (Cornell College) (Maj 19-5)

Michael Carrasco (MCC) over Santos Alvarez (Henry Ford Unattached) (Dec 3-1)

Michael Carrasco (MCC) over Killian Perrigon (Cornell College) (Dec 8-6)

149 – Jaycob Bechtol – 4th

Jaycob Bechtol (Muskegon) over Dakota Clark (Middle Tennessee) (Dec 7-1)

James Foy (Harper College) over Jaycob Bechtol (MCC) (Fall 2:32)

Jaycob Bechtol (MCC) over Ulises Jacobo (Harper College) (RULE)

Garrett Morris (MCC) over Jaycob Bechtol (MCC) (Dec 9-2)

149 – Garrett Morris – 3rd

Garrett Morris (MCC) over Rashawn Crumpler (Minnesota West CC) (Fall 0:58)

Garrett Morris (Muskegon) over Ulises Jacobo (Harper CC) (Fall 3:00)

Tyree Johnson (Triton CC) over Garrett Morris (Muskegon) (Dec 11-5)

Garrett Morris (Muskegon) over Thaddeus Dietrich (Ancilla CC) (RULE)

Garrett Morris (MCC) over Jaycob Bechtol (MCC (Dec 9-2)

157 – Isaiah Dole – DNP

Tristin Guaman (Harper CC) over Isaiah Dole (MCC) (Fall 5:57)

Isaiah Dole (MCC) over Joseph Pasquesi (Cornell College) (SV-1 6-4)

Isaiah Dole (MCC) over Deondre Yarber-Rodriguez (Henry Ford CC) (Fall 4:56)

Garrick Walker (Millikin University) over Isaiah Dole (MCC) (SV-1 4-2)

165 – Blake Ross – DNP

Nick Dado (Joliet JC) over Blake Ross (MCC) (Maj 14-0)

Blake Ross (MCC) over Carleton Buck (Henry Ford CC) (Fall 2:26)

Blake Ross (MCC) over Matt Tobin (Elmhurst College) (TF 18-2)

Colin Honderd (Cornell College) over Blake Ross (Muskegon) (Fall 0:44)

165 – Nick Lindsey – DNP

Nick Lindsey (MCC) over Spencer Easley (Cornell College) (Fall 1:07)

Nick Lindsey (MCC) over Scott Bauer (Millikin University) (Maj 14-2)

Doug Ferrier (Olivet college) over Nick Lindsey (MCC) (Dec 9-3)

Nick Lindsey (MCC) over Tykease Baker (Ancilla College) (Fall 3:34)

Nick Dado (Joliet JC) over Nick Lindsey (MCC) (Fall 5:34)

184 – Corey Perkins – 5th

Robert Granberry (Olivet college) over Corey Perkins (MCC) (SV-1 8-6)

Corey Perkins (MCC) over Langon Blue (Millikin University) (Dec 6-0)

Corey Perkins (MCC) over Juan Garth (Millikin University) (TF 18-3)

Corey Perkins (Muskegon) over John Wright (Harper College) (Maj 18-9)

Tyjonn Lockett (Millikin University) over Corey Perkins (MCC) (RULE)

Corey Perkins (Muskegon) over Arnold Fox (Millikin University) (Dec 5-3)


December 8, 2018
9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Event Category:


Triton College
2000 5th Avenue
River Grove, IL 60171
+ Google Map
(708) 456-0300