Jayhawk Scramble, Scholarship Lunch Raise $12,500

Jayhawk Scramble 2016 Winning Team

The team of John Selmon, John Leonard, Teresa Sturrus and Marty McDermott won the 2016 Jayhawk Scramble.

The Foundation for Muskegon Community College 2016 Jayhawk Scramble and Jayhawk Scholarship Lunch on June 5 at University Park Golf Course raised a record $12,500 for MCC scholarships thanks to generous and enthusiastic sponsors, benefactors and participants.

At the Jayhawk Scholarship Lunch, which followed the competition, three MCC student scholarship recipients – Brianna Holtrop, Kaitlyn Averill and Mason Averill – shared how their scholarships created educational opportunities that transformed their lives.

“Once again, we heard firsthand how scholarships impact lives,” said Amy Swope, director of the Foundation for Muskegon Community College. “It’s so meaningful to have our student speakers at the event, engaging with business and community partners.”

The Sturrus-Selmon team of MCC Vice Presidents Teresa Sturrus and John Selmon, Athletic Director Marty McDermott and John Leonard took first place with their 11-under par score.

Other awards included closest to the pin – Peter Blacklock; longest drives – J.B. Meeuwenberg and Nancy Crandall; and putting contest co-winners – Andy Wible, Scott Musselman, Brian Boersema, Brian Johnson, Jason Franklin and Jon Baarda. Marty McDermott was the winner of The Ultimate Golfing Experience – 22 rounds of golf at seven local courses.