MCC Trustees Begin New Term

MCC Board of Trustees members Diana Osborn and Roy Portenga

MCC Board of Trustees members Diana Osborn and Roy Portenga

The Muskegon Community College Board of Trustees commenced their new term at a January 18 organizational meeting at the college’s main campus.  The seven board members include Diana Osborn and Roy Portenga who were reelected last fall.

“We are both excited about continuing to be a part of Muskegon Community College,” said Osborn after she and Portenga were administered the Oath of Office on January 5.  Both of the reelected trustees are Muskegon Community College (MCC) graduates and both were honored with a Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor that MCC bestows upon outstanding graduates.  Osborn earned the award in 2013 and Portenga in 2020.

Osborn also worked at the college, evolving from a work-study student in the late 1960s to the Executive Vice President before retiring in 2009 after 42 years with the college.  First elected to the board of trustees in 2010, she has served the college for over 51 years.

Roy Portenga, a semi-retired attorney, was first elected to the board of trustees in 1998 and served until he opted to retire from the board in 2010.  After a board seat was left vacant due to the death of Larry Wright in 2011, Portenga was reappointed to the board. Donald Seifert, who died in 2013, is the current longest-serving trustee and served on the college board for 33 years and was Muskegon County’s long-serving elected official when he stepped down in 2002.  When Portenga’s six-year term ends in 2028, he will surpass Seifert’s record and be the college’s longest serving trustee.

“The best education I received, the best instruction I received was here,” said Portenga. “It’s great being a part of MCC as all these years go on.”  A Muskegon native, Portenga attended MCC from 1971 to 1973 and graduated with an associate degree. He earned a bachelor’s degree with high distinction from the University of Michigan and a Juris Doctor from Valparaiso University.

Trustees voted for board officers at the January 18 organizational meeting and opted to retain Diana Osborn as Chair, Sean Mullally as Vice Chair, Nancy Frye as Secretary, and Kathy Moore as Treasurer.  Shon Cook, Donald Crandall, and Roy Portenga are at-large trustees.

MCC is governed by a seven-member board of trustees who are elected for staggered six-year terms on from throughout the district (Muskegon County).  Muskegon Community College offers over 80 areas of study and variety of community resources including free planetarium shows, a natural area, science museum, health and wellness center, and more. Visit to learn more.