Ten Students Inducted into MCC’s International Honor Society

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inductees October 2017

PHOTO CAPTION: Back Row (left to right): Derek Jakielek, Stacey Hilton and Paul Struck; Middle Row (L-R): Alyssa Thiele, Wyatt Peterson and Megan Holwerda; Front Row (L-R): Madelyn McLavy (PTK Michigan Regional Vice-President), Taylor Green, Michaela Wright, Kierra Davis and Taylor Carlson.

Ten Muskegon Community College students were inducted into the college’s Beta Xi Xi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society during its 25th ceremony at MCC held Oct. 25 in the Blue and Gold Room on campus.

The inductees are: Kierra Davis, Stacey Hilton and Megan Holwerda of Muskegon, MI;  Taylor Carlson and Derek Jakielek of Twin Lake, MI; Taylor Green and Paul Struck of Grand Haven, MI; Wyatt Peterson of Howard City, MI; Alyssa Theile of Ravenna, MI; and Michaela Wright of Fruitport, MI.

Beta Xi Xi also awarded an honorary membership to Brenda McClain, the circulation supervisor at MCC’s Hendrik Meijer Library. A strong advocate for all students at the College, McClain has supported numerous PTK members over the years, encouraging them to be active members and focus on their academics.

“She exemplifies all the characteristics of a Phi Theta Kappa member and the chapter is privileged to have her as an honorary member,” said Lisa Anderson, who, along with Patti D’Avignon, serves as co-advisor for PTK at MCC.

Assisting with the 2017 ceremony were PTK Michigan Regional Vice-President Madelyn McLavy from Mid-Michigan Community College, and two previous Beta Xi Xi officers – Michaela Bosset and Van Vu – both 2017 All-Michigan Academic Team members who transferred to Grand Valley State University.

“Like Michaela and Van, Beta Xi Xi’s members are high achieving and dedicated to their academics and the College and community at large,” added Anderson. “Members often go on to succeed in their professional and academic careers. Many Beta Xi Xi members earn scholarships helping them transfer and continue their education at four-year universities. Two 2017 graduates earned full rides. Many professionals in the area were active Beta Xi Xi members, including area pharmacists, nurses, IT professionals, and educators.”

In 1929, PTK was recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Today, it is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, and other countries.

PTK serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. MCC chartered the Beta Xi Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa in November 2005.

To learn more about Beta Xi Xi and Phi Theta Kappa, visit http://www.muskegoncc.edu/phi-theta-kappa/ or contact Patti D’Avignon at (231)777-0341 or Lisa Anderson at (231)777-0274.